Who’s Accredited ?

Commitment to the Industry

)5Under the terms of the crane operator qualification rule, 29 CFR 1926.1427, OSHA requires all certification organizations providing certification to crane operators to be accredited.

The Who’s Accredited? Directory is designed to take the guesswork out of determining whether or not a certification organization is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting body, as OSHA requires.

The Directory also provides a direct link to the listing maintained by the two accrediting bodies that OSHA recognizes: ANSI and NCCA.

Just as a certification is only valid for a certain amount of time, so an accreditation is reviewed on a regular basis by the accrediting organization, usually annually.  That means, just like a certification, an accreditation can be suspended, or even removed at any time.

And also like certification, accreditation is not a “one-time” event.  Accreditation is a rigorous and often protracted process.  Just because an organization may have applied for accreditation does not mean it is, in fact, accredited and therefore in compliance with OSHA’s requirements. In most cases it takes a certification body many months of review and often continuing dialogue with the accrediting body before accreditation is granted.

There are six (6) certification organizations that are currently accredited.

Accredited by ANSI National Accreditation Board:

CIC – Crane Institute of America Certification

EICA – Electrical Industry Certifications Association

NCCCO Services, LLC – (CCO) (Formerly the National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators)

NCCER – National Center for Construction Education and Research

Accredited by NCCA:

CICC – Carpenters International Certification Council

OECP – Operating Engineers Certification Program

Note that not all certification bodies are accredited for all the programs they offer.  Employers can verify for themselves which programs are included in the accreditation scope, and which bodies are accredited, by checking directly with the appropriate accrediting agency, either

ANSI at  https://anab.ansi.org/credentialing/personnel-certification/directory or

NCCA at  https://ice.learningbuilder.com/Public/MemberSearch/ProgramVerification

In addition, both nationally recognized accrediting agencies issue proof of accreditation in written form usually annually.  An example of the written confirmation used by ANSI is: PCAC Decision Letter

View The Who’s Accredited? Directory here.